Eternal Recess

According to my parents I have always seen the world differently.  I still get crazy looks from people I know about the way I view the world and my concepts of life.  My peers in this industry sometimes think I am crazy for the way I do things, people who claim to know about marketing and business tell me I am wrong for the way I do things.  Other photographers will tell me how my pricing just cannot work and they don’t understand it.  Well, I just think that I might not be meant to be understood by everyone.

My clients find me, they like what I do, at least from what they tell me, and I can pay my rent, my bills, my assistant and still enjoy my life.  So far I’m not seeing the downside and the negative effects on my business like I have been told by so many that will happen.  Maybe it will happen in the next 20 years?

There are a lot of people who tell you to be yourself, especially in this business.  I honestly don’t have any other choice!  If you look at my website, you will see it is different from most other photographer sites.  My studio is my playground.  I put a part of me into every single thing I do.  My work is me.  And I’m no workaholic, I just love what I do and therefore I put everything I have into it every day.  Not because I feel like I have to or I feel like I need to just to make money.  I want to.  I wake up every day wanting to go to work.  Why?  Because it isn’t work to me.  I get to play every single day.  I live a life of eternal recess.  This is how I choose to live and how I choose to run my business.  The only thing my playground is missing is monkey bars!

So although my pricing, my specials and what I do to run my business may not make sense to others, what they are doing with their business makes absolutely no sense to me.  If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it! 😉

Codi by The Average Jim