The Big F’n List of Don’t

There are many different types of photographers out there.  Some are very technical and want the newest, fastest, biggest camera available.  Some are purist who only want to shoot film.  There are some who consider themselves to be artists but only consider photography art to be what they do.  Where do I fit into all of this mess?  I don’t.

I hate it when people say what they don’t do rather than what they do.  But this is exactly what I am about to do.  I don’t fit into any category mostly because I don’t follow any rules.  I don’t believe the newest camera will get me better images and I don’t think my client’s care what camera I shoot with.  I don’t think it matters if you follow the rules of photography to a T.  I don’t think it matters if you shoot film or digital and I don’t think it matters if you shoot RAW or jpeg.

Part of being a good photographer is having the ability to put the vision in your head onto a print, or in most cases these days, into a digital file.  How I get there really is not important, because even if I showed someone exactly what I did, they probably would end up with an entirely different image.

I do get criticized by some who just can’t understand why I don’t shoot a certain way.  The “technically correct” way.  I know how to do that, but I choose not to.  I choose to follow the vision in my head, I choose to follow the mood I feel while shooting.  I choose to create an image and take the risk of being technically wrong.  No risk, no reward.  I live for the moment, I live and thrive for this type of creativity.  Some call it “the zone” I just call it life.  I choose to live life in this zone, always looking for the shot, the image, that perfect moment.  I don’t need a camera in my hand to capture these moments, they last forever in my head.  And since they are in my head, they end up being the inspiration for the end result, which is a photograph.

I don’t follow the rules, I don’t listen to the critics, I don’t follow the herd, I don’t do a lot of things.  I just do what I do.  If you like it great, if not? Oh well. 😉

Amanda by The Average Jim