The Average Garden ;)

Being in business for yourself is a funny thing sometimes.  There is a lot of time where you are working but not making any money.  I like to think of these days as gardening.  You spend all this time planting seeds, watering the soil, pulling the weeds, shooing the birds away and making sure the rabbits don’t run away with your harvest just so you yourself can harvest the crops and claim the rewards.

For every big payday there are several more days of very little or no profit.  These are just some of the facts you must look at when you start your own business.  If you expect to make money every single day as a sole proprietor you might be in for a bit of a shock.

True, there are those who do make money every day, but for the most part, especially if you are an artist, this is not the case!

But is it all about making money?  I personally don’t think so.  I do what I do because I love it, and honestly my biggest downfall in business is the fact that I hate money.  I don’t care if I have a bunch of it or none of it.  This is something I should probably work on, but most likely won’t.  I’m a dirty hippie at heart.

I know I will have a big payday soon, and that will take me through the month or the next couple of weeks, so until then I just plan on creating and playing at my playground.  I might work on some new boudoir ideas, shoot another editorial or two, maybe just finish some edits and relax on the couch.

No matter what type of payday I have, I can honestly say that I do love what I do, and as long as I can keep the lights on I will keep on doing what I do. 😉

Here is a shot from my most recent editorial appearing on Cake-Mag.com

Marita by The Average Jim