The Average Beginning ;)

I have been asked a few times “what’s with the wink at the end of your name?”  Okay, I have actually been asked several times.  So here is the story of how “The Average Jim” came to be.

For years, and I mean years since the Internet was around, I was very proud of the fact that you could not find me on google or any search engine.  I was “off the grid” so to speak and I was enjoying it very much.  But then I started to get known a little more, but everyone knew me as just “Jim” which was still hard to search on the web so that was pretty cool.  I like being ambiguous, I can’t help it.

I had my regular website, which was just my name and how it still is but I wanted to blog more.  Honestly, even though my last name is pretty easy to spell people just cannot seem to get it right.  Around this time there was a huge boom in the digital photography field.  Suddenly everyone was a photographer and people were claiming to be the “best” in their industry even though they had no real world experience.  Honestly, I was pissed, not because I was losing business, but because people were so narcissistic for absolutely no deserved reason to be!  So I needed and wanted an outlet, a blog seemed to be a great place to start.

The whole reason why I picked the name “The Average Jim” was simply because everyone knew me as Jim.  It didn’t matter if people knew several other people named Jim, if they just said my first name everyone assumed they were talking about me, all the other Jim’s got their last name thrown into it.  So that was me, just The Average Jim.

At first it was fun, calling people out on their BS in the industry, exposing the lies and misconceptions about what people want you to think is true.  But then it just got tiresome.  Other people who thought they knew it all started to try to take my side and defend the art of photography.  I’m not defending the art of photography, I’m just voicing an opinion.  To make a long story short, I just got sick of the industry and the BS.  This is when I decided to focus on my favorite part of this business, taking pictures and working with my clients.

The wink at the end of my name was to represent my attitude towards life.  One thing you can always count on is me to not be serious.  I have quoted myself several times, “even when I say to you, ‘no, I’m serious’…. I’m probably not.”  That is the wink.  It is my sarcasm, it is my wit, it is me enjoying every single moment of my life and not taking myself or what I do too seriously.  Yes, I’m good at what I do, I have had enough clients tell me so and I happen to pay the rent this way.  But that doesn’t mean I need to be a dick about it.

I like being nice, I like making sure my clients have fun at their sessions with me.  I like smiling and having a good day every day!  Am I a little smug?  Yes.  Am I confident? Yes.  Am I an extrovert? Yes!  But at the end of the day, I am a photographer, I am a musician, I am a creative individual who sometimes has a little too much time on his hands and likes to write lengthy blog posts.  But most of all, I am just me, I am The Average Jim. 😉

Amanda by The Average Jim