The Average Dark Side

It is no secret that I have a darker side.  Yes, I love my soft light and pretty beach pictures, but I am also a huge fan of the gritty black and white, sexy vibe.  I have a lot of work from the past that is actually very much like this and honestly I want to shoot more of it!  I’m not sure if I would call it erotic photography, but there is definitely an undertone of sexuality while maintaining a certain mystery to the images.

I feel like I need to take a page out of Helmut Newton’s playbook and just get everyone to shoot this style at the end of every shoot.  My two latest session have had this vibe, unfortunately I cannot show the images from one of the shoots because of my client’s privacy, but it was awesome! You will just have to trust me on this!

This year I almost made a resolution, and maybe I am kind of making one here now, but I really want to dive more into photography than ever.  It seems with virtually everyone out there being a photographer now that the only way to stand out is to throw away technique and continue to push myself to get more and more creative.  Of course social networking will have to be a big part of that, gotta make sure people know who I am after all!

I keep having dreams of selling everything I own, packing up my camera into my old Mercedes and just traveling the country, couch surfing and taking photos.  Yes, I literally dream about this!  In reality I have no desire to sell my guitars or certain other belongings, but the urge is definitely there.  Maybe it means I need to continue to expand my work into other states and just travel more?

Whatever it is I need to do the one thing that stands out to me right now is I want to really explore my darker side.  I want to push my own boundaries and see where it takes me.  I have a very strong curiosity for the unknown, and the more mystery there is the better!  The cool thing is that I have some great clients who are totally up for this style and want to be a part of my vision!  Seriously, what more could I ask for?

This year I want to keep shooting more of what I am already doing but I also want to expand more.  More black and white, more grit, more skin, more ambiguity, more of what is in this vivid imagination of mine.  No limits this year, and as I have said before, I don’t walk a fine line, I drive over it. 😉

Tracy by The Average Jim