The Nitty Gritty

There are many different types of photographers out there.  Some have distinct styles and some are still searching for their inspiration.  Some are busy knowing it all and telling everyone else how to be a photographer and there are those of us who just like to do what we do.  I like to think I fall into that last category.

I know my work isn’t for everyone and I’m okay with that.  And as I have said before, I actually prefer it this way.  I love it when my clients come into my studio and tell me about or show me photos from my own work.  I actually had a boudoir client last week who made a power point presentation off of the images she loved from this very site!  Talk about making it easy on me!  She showed me the styles she loved and we shot those along with some other creative ideas and she loved how the shoot turned out.

The reason I am talking about this today is that it is so important to display your work as a photographer the way you want your clients to understand it.  I rarely get a client who comes in for something completely different from what I shoot.  I have a style, I like that gritty, grainy imperfection in my images.  I like raw emotion and the in-between moments, the real moments that actually do happen during a shoot.  You can’t plan these moments out, you can set up the location, set the mood and pose your subject but unless you make a connection and pay attention it just won’t happen.

So I will let the other photographer’s out there know it all.  I just know what works for me and my business.  I know what my clients like because they tell me what they like and they come to me because of what I show on my website.  I don’t do it all, I actually only do one thing.  I photograph people, and I do it my way.  It has worked for me this long, so don’t expect any changes anytime soon.  I will still shoot film, I will still shoot digitally and I will continue to shoot my vision.  I hope I can keep making the connections with my clients that I have over the past several years and keep pushing my own creativity.  To me this is what it is all about.  And that is the nitty-gritty of The Average Jim. 😉

Emmy by The Average Jim