Satisfaction

I have always walked the line between the “Industry” and portraiture.  I have worked with magazines, some celebrities, a lot of models and several people in this “Industry”.  But through it all I have also worked with several, for lack of a better term, “regular” people.  For some reason I just love working with people who are not in front of a camera all of the time.  There is a sense of realism they bring to the shoot that I seem to strive to achieve out of my sessions.

You don’t always see these sessions on this site because a lot of my clients actually want their images to be kept private.  Just today I had a great shoot with a new client and she wants her images to be kept private so you won’t see them here even though I would love to show a few of them here!  It was a great shoot!

This is the difference between the industry and people who are not a part of it.  In the industry, people want their images shown everywhere.  They want that publicity, but this also can take away the artistic quality of the images every now and then.  With my clients who are not part of the industry, they look to me as an artist.  Now as an artist, I honestly don’t mind if my clients don’t want me to post images online because they buy prints from me.  As a photographer, the greatest feeling is when people want prints of your work.  Prints are tangible, they are an actual display of your artwork in someone’s home.

I hear photographers complaining all of the time about clients who don’t want them to share their image on the internet, to me it just isn’t a big deal.  If I were a painter and was commissioned to paint a portrait, would I paint two just so I could have one to show people?  I set my rates at a place where I am comfortable at being a commissioned artist with my portrait and boudoir clients.  Commercial work is completely different, and I’m not doing that anymore so I’m not going to talk about that.

What I will discuss is walking the line between the two worlds.  I like mixing portraiture with fashion, especially with my boudoir sessions.  There is a sense of glamour and mystery to these images, and of course my fascination with the late 60’s and early 70’s is a heavy influence as well.  I think that time, in this country, is incredibly interesting.  It was when America lost its innocence and was coming of age.  Free love and self discovery were a huge part of this country then and I am seriously in love with this time period.

Part of finding a style to shoot actually has nothing to do with the technical side of being a photographer, I feel it has everything to do with how your work feels to others.  Not how it looks, not how you shot it, but what does it make the viewer feel?  Maybe I am idealistic, maybe I am just one of those artsy-fartsy types who just wants to express my own ideas, which is definitely true to some degree.

Over the past couple of years I have gone back and forth between these two different worlds of photography and I really am not seeing the difference in my work.  Honestly, the only real difference I see is who is in front of my lens.  As a photographer this is actually a really cool feeling.  It doesn’t matter who steps in front of my camera, they will always get 100% me.  This is something that has taken me years to accomplish, and when a client tells me how much they love what I have done for them I am completely satisfied.  And at the end of the day, isn’t that what we all want to feel?

Robyn by The Average Jim