Moving Forward

Today is Thanksgiving and here I am in front of my computer working on photos and trying to get everything finished up before the holiday rush.  I’m almost done with everything I need to do and then I can relax in front of the TV with the in-laws and do the traditional male bonding around football, beer and food that makes you sleepy.  All in all it sounds like a nice relaxing day.  The best part is that I have absolutely no shopping to do on Black Friday!

When it gets to this time of year I start to get nostalgic.  I start thinking about how I started in this business and where I’m at today.  Part of me wishes I could just go back to doing things the way I used to do them.  Shoot a couple of rolls of film, meet with my client two weeks later to go over the proofs and have them pick from there.  But after getting my latest batch of film back from the lab I am not so sure if I really want to go back.

First, it was expensive!!! Holy moly, the price of processing and scanning is a huge expense!  If I were to go back to shooting film I would have to seriously increase my rates!  And yes, I love the way film looks, but I just don’t know if I can justify it anymore.  I may just invest in a new digital camera in the new year and finally move away from film all together.  Maybe it is time I step into the new technology with a 100% effort and not look back.  I have not touched my large format camera in at least a year, I have only used my medium format cameras twice this year and honestly I just don’t shoot enough 35mm to make it worth while.  I’m almost already there, so why not just let go?

If I do stop shooting film entirely all together I do make one promise.  I will not over-Photoshop images!  I recently saw one of my favorite photographers work and it was seriously terrible post-production on a supermodel.  How this happens I have no idea, but it does remind me that I need to not go off of the deep-end with my work and I need to keep up with the industry or I will get left behind!

I’ll stop rambling now and share with you one of my last film images of the year.  As much as I love the nostalgia, I think it may be time to move forward.  We will see what the new year brings….. 😉

Amanda by The Average Jim