Pretty Pictures

I was watching a photographer friend edit photos recently and was kind of amazed at all of the different tricks they used in post-production.  Adding light here, taking it away there, sharpening areas that I honestly didn’t think mattered at all, and then deciding if the shadow needed to be extended to give it a “more dramatic” feel.  Honestly, the photo looked way better out of the camera than after all of the work that went into it.

Maybe I noticed the “flaws” because I like those little nuances, I think they make a photograph, not take away from one.  Especially when I am photographing people, I love the little things about each of them that make them different from everyone else.  Sure, I do post-production and edit the photos I take, just like I would in the darkroom if I were still shooting film.  And, admittedly, since I photograph mostly women there are some who ask for a little more Photoshop than others.  But I don’t change the mood that is created in the lens.

It seems that there is still this trend of “oh, I can fix that in Photoshop” when in reality, if you just compose your photo better you can save a ton of time and not have to fix so much later on.

I like simplicity.  I like pretty pictures.  Over-sharpening them and over-processing them just takes away from the natural beauty of the image and the subject matter.  Creating a great photograph does not happen just with what you can do on your computer.  It begins when you first pick up your camera.  This is why I have similar results with what I shoot.  This is why people come back to me time and time again.  It is actually a very simple process.  Know what you want to shoot, shoot it, deliver those images and have a happy client.

Oh well, I’ll let the others do it their way. I’ll keep doing it mine. 🙂

Here is one from my 4th shoot with Parris from a little while back.

Parris by The Average Jim