The Average Fraud?

Sometimes I wish I could just be a fraud.  I could just blast posts all over the internet, or better yet hire someone to do it for me, about all of my success and how amazing I am.  Everyone should be so lucky as to have been photographed by me!  Blah blah blah, bullshit bullshit bullshit.  Maybe life would be easier?

If I did this then maybe I could teach workshops for thousands of dollars and sell worthless books with the same old regurgitated crap and lack of any definitive information about actually being a photographer.  I still find it amazing how so many new photographers will drop thousands of dollars on workshops from people who are not good at running a photography business but they are great at making you think they are.

Just because someone has a whole bunch of “fans” on the internet does not make them a great photographer.  I know someone who shoots “LA fashion”, and I call it this because fashion in LA is way different from anywhere else in the world!  But this photographer went to New York and told them about all of their success in LA, all of the magazine publications and stuff like that.  Guess what.  Nobody cared and nobody hired them.  You know why?  Because being popular on the web and shooting for online publications only takes you so far.  You have to have vision, talent and the smarts to put those two components together.

It is not easy being a working photographer.  So many people think it is a glamorous life and you get to hang out with cool people all of the time.  Well, it’s not glamorous, you do meet some cool people, but you can’t usually afford to hang out all of the time because you are fighting to keep the paid gigs you do get and keep the people away who are willing to shoot it for free and try to steal it from you!

So if I were a fraud I wouldn’t have to worry about all of those things.  I wouldn’t have to actually deliver the best photos I possibly can to my clients, they wouldn’t care because it was shot by me so it must be good.  I’m not saying that all of those in business of workshops and selling books are frauds, but there are quite a few out there and they will say anything to get your money.  Personally, I say do some research and really find out who is who and look into what they have actually done with their career before spending money on anyone!

But if I were a fraud, I don’t think I would be doing what I love to do, which is to be taking pictures of people.  I love the beach, I love my studio and I really dig my clients!  I get to hang out on the beach, I don’t have to wear shoes to work, or long pants, and most days I don’t have to wake up at any certain time.  It may not be glamorous, but it does have it’s perks!

nude-beach-fashion-portrait-boudoir-photography-the-average-jim