Making Sexy Happen

I went to a photography meeting/presentation the other day.  I find it amazing how certain people in this industry are so transparent in their sales pitch yet people still fall for it time and time again.  And when you challenge them on it, they try to twist your words or change the subject.  I feel sorry for the people who don’t know any better and just believe everything they are told.

But there were some positive things I took back from this presentation.  Honestly, most of this I already knew but it was nice to hear it again.  I shoot what I show and I show what I shoot.  It doesn’t matter who you are, I shoot you in my style.  It doesn’t matter what you look like, what your body shape is, how long your hair is or isn’t.  Working with me results in getting images like you see on this site.

There are many different types of photographers, some who do everything and do it well and then there are photographers like me.  I don’t do it all, but if I did I would do it my way.  I’ve been told my images have a certain sex appeal to them, and I would agree.  I’ve shot for men’s magazines in the past and still do on occasion, so I get that vibe and how to tell an editorial story with images.  But I also like my playground and love shooting in my Mercedes, which I now try to do with every shoot I have!  It’s all part of how I “make sexy happen”.

I guess what I am saying is that there is art to photography, at least I like to think there is.  And if you take away the art and soul of your imagery it just becomes a standard “Sears” portrait.  And I just don’t ever want to become that photographer.  The world isn’t black and white, there are shades of grey and vivid color, it’s true in art and it’s true in life.

Danielle by The Average Jim