Realization

For me, HDTV is not better.  I’m sure some will say how amazing it is, but I just find it to be too sharp and vivid.  Real life is not that perfect!  Real life has flaws and not everyone has a hair light.  But  I get what HDTV is trying to do.  It is making the best out of every situation in everyday life.  So I may not like watching a comedy in HD, when it comes to certain shows or sporting events, it has its place.

I have come to the realization that I love flaws.  I love photos from the 1960’s and 70’s.  I love film and the way the grain will either distort or enhance an image.  I love the unpredictability of it all.  There is an element you cannot control in the attempt to solve the mathematical problem that is photography.  The camera and film are part of the process.  We, as photographers, try to control it, but sometimes we just cannot.

I like that additional element, the one you cannot control.  Of course there is also the subject.  The subject can move in and out of the desired light.  So the whole idea is to capture the moment that happens at a split second of time.  One moment that just happened out of nowhere.  You cannot recreate it, you cannot duplicate it, no matter how hard you try, it just happens that exact way once.  This is why I love photography.

HDTV tries to be perfect, when in reality, perfection is quite often the least perfect thing you see.

Codi by The Average Jim