The Sessions

I was asked recently if I considered myself a “boudoir” photographer?  Honestly, the best answer I could come up with is that I am, partially one.  I shoot glamour photography for the most part.  Sure, there are some elements of fashion involved on some shoots, some elements of glamour and then I also photograph women in lingerie.  Some of these women are models some are non-models who either want to become models or just want photos of themselves for themselves or their significant other.

Boudoir has become such an overused term in the photography industry.  One photographer recently tried to claim she invented boudoir photography back in 1997!  That’s funny, I shot my first boudoir session years before that and I am nowhere near the first to ever do such a thing!

So to make this long answer a little bit shorter.  If a potential client asks me if I shoot boudoir, I will say yes, but in my own style.  It is very important to look at my work and see how I do what I do.  And I honestly think all clients should do this!  Never hire a photographer because of their price or because everybody else likes them.  You should hire a photographer who you like and who can photograph you in the way you see can see yourself or better!

My sessions are about the type of person you are and I really based what I shoot off of our conversations.   So I am a glamour photographer who throws in some fashion and portraits during the session.  I will photograph in studio, at a hotel or at the beach or wherever! It is all about my client, we go where we need to go to get the shot!

Titles never stuck with me, so call me what you want, the bottom line is, if you like my work and would like to have images of yourself the way I shoot, send me an email.  If you can’t see yourself in the way I photograph others and are still looking for someone to photograph you, send me an email.  I’m always happy to refer great photographers with great reputations.

I was going to go on talking about privacy and copyright, but I’ll save that for another day.  Got to keep my writings to a minimum lol. 😉

Chelsea by The Average Jim