Idealistic Behavior

I have recently stated how I will no longer be a “working” photographer in the year to come.  I will still be available for hire, but in a totally different way.  I can be commissioned as an artist and it is my artwork I will be selling, not my services so to speak.

This is part of my idealistic behavior.  I want people to have actual prints, albums, books and art pieces rather than just a disc of digital files.  I was guilty of this myself for a long time, and then I began to hang prints in my studio and I love the response as well as how it inspires me to keep shooting and printing more of my work.

The words photography and photograph go together.  If a painter paints a picture, do you want a digital copy or the actual painting?  A print hanging on your wall is something you see everyday and is something that reminds you of a time in your life, and that will never change.

Maybe I’m just rambling on and turning into that dirty hippie artist type of person.  If so that is fine.  I like where I am headed and so far it seems to be working.  I have a few new shoots scheduled and it looks like this new way of doing things is going to work out for me.  And in the end, that is all that matters to me.  I just want to be happy and have the people around me be happy.  Or am I just asking too much?

Jordan by The Average Jim