Sharks and Bottom Feeders

I’m just going to say it.  Some people straight up suck ass.  Here is the back story for you, and please let me know if I am wrong.  The first part of the story goes like this.  I screwed up.  I was talking with another photographer who lived out of the area about a project they were working on, we then started discussing a project I was working on.  I was stupid and trusted this person and gave them the title of my project.  This photographer proceeds to steal the title of my project and use it for their “book”.  First off, the title didn’t really match, but they just liked it so much that they had to use it.  And yes, I’m playing the pronoun game, I am not naming names nor identifying gender.

So I learned from this situation.  Don’t trust anyone in this industry with any of your ideas.  Apparently this goes for charity too.

I start talking with a model, someone I have never worked with but I would love to one day, and I asked if she would be interested in a certain project I am working on that benefits animal charities etc…. she is out of the state at the moment but she tells me I should contact a photographer because they have connections with certain models who would love to be a part of this project.  I am reluctant but I have spoken with this other photographer before and they seemed to be pretty cool.  But I was wrong again.

This person, not only never responded to my email, but since I discussed what the project was about they decided to go ahead and shoot it themselves.  Stealing my idea and passing it off as their own to further their career and not even give a dime to charity.

I am so sick of these people who lack creativity and originality.  They claim to be “inspired” by a famous photo so they duplicate it and suddenly they are a master photographer, they steal someone’s idea and they are suddenly so creative.  Karma is going to kick your ass one day, that is all I can say… and hope for.

So I have learned my lesson all the way this time.  I am not sharing any ideas with anyone ever again.  These people will steal your life if they can get away with it.  They don’t care about anything but themselves and I am sick and tired of them.  They just want everyone to love what they do in their shallow little lives.  Well, if I run into any of you who have done this to me, expect me to out you.  Expect me to treat you like shit.  I don’t play your little games and pat you on the back for lacking integrity and imagination.  I am not your peer and I am not your fan.  Oh sorry, am I acting like I am better than you?  I don’t have to act.  When you steal from me to make yourself look better, you just proved it for me.

Yes, I love to be the friendly artist type, but it just cannot happen in this industry.  Too many sharks and bottom feeders.  I have learned when to keep my mouth shut and I now know when to open it.

**Disclaimer…. I know there are people who have used my images as inspiration, I am not talking about those of you who do this.  I am talking about people who flat-out steal from others and just try to make themselves look better for doing so.  I am flattered that you find my work inspiring, keep on enjoying your work and I am happy to be a part of your journey!

To get back at these people I should do something they would never think of.  Maybe I should start a project called…. yeah, you thought I was going to tell you what I was going to do next didn’t you?  😉

Jordan by The Average Jim