Keep your shirt on.

There are many things I love about photography.  What I love most is my ability to shoot what I want to shoot and people seem to want to look at it, be part of it and when I’m lucky they want to buy it.  I have never been one to really care what other people think of me or my work, I just do what I do because there is this little thing inside my head that will not let me exist in any other way.

People have labeled my work for me.  Some call it art, some call it fashion, some glamour, some smut, some call it beautiful and some say I am exploiting the models I shoot.  When you put yourself and your work out there for the world to see you will have people who love it and people who hate and even more who just don’t care.  I accept that people will not like what I do, I’m fine with that.  What I don’t get is that these people who question my work never have the courage to ask me about it, they just assume I will either get angry or something I guess.  I don’t know, but it’s weird.

There are some people who are nervous to pose for me because I show nudes in my portfolio.  Honestly, if you are afraid of me talking you into taking your clothes off here is a little secret….. I’m not that good!  The nudes I show are of models who pose nude by their own free will.  There is no coaxing by me, and sometimes models just start taking off their clothes because they are comfortable with me photographing them in that way.  And since I’m being so honest, I actually have several nude images of models that will never see the light of day simply because the model changed her mind later on.  Believe it or not, I do actually try to have some integrity with what I do!

All I know is that I am going to keep on doing what I am doing and I am certain that there will be those who continue to judge me and my work.  Like I said before, I’m fine with that.  But here is one thing I want everyone to know, if you have a question about my intentions with my work, just ask me about it.  That will be the fastest way for you to get your answer.

Here is one from my shoot yesterday with Jordan.

Jordan by The Average Jim