The Average Enlightenment

If you have followed my blog for any time now you may have noticed I am making certain changes in the way I do things.  I posted on another blog recently how I was taking back my life, and this is very true.  I love photography and I love the work I do and the images I create, I do not like how some people choose to do business in this industry.  So for me, I have decided that I will no longer be “playing the game” as we say in this business.

If I network with you, it is because I like what you are doing and not to see what you can do for me.  If I work with you it is because I want to, not because I have to or because I want to kiss ass.  I am also not going to worry about those who have stolen my ideas and tried to profit off of them, of course if they were to do it again I would just take them to court.   I am just going to focus on doing what I love to do, take pictures, live my life and enjoy everything I do.

Now here is part of the philosophy that people tend to not quite understand.  I like living a positive life, I don’t like to be an asshole, I just happen to be good at it.  For some reason people assume that if you choose a philosophical path in life that you have to be “enlightened” or act like you’re Gandhi or something.  Reaching enlightenment is not about letting people walk all over you.  If someone pisses you off, you just deal with it differently.  It’s not about being totally passive and just turning the other cheek.  That is being a sucker and not wanting to deal with any issues.  I will rant, I will go on a tangent about something that really might not matter all that much.  But I know this, this is how I vent, this is how I get to my happy place.  And it’s my blog so I’ll rant if I want to.

Basically, I’m done with the bullshit of this business.  I don’t like to go to LA to shoot, I have my space here at the beach and that is where I like to stay.  Of course, I can be flown to tropical beaches for shoots, I am not opposed to that.

I am back to being the philosophical beach bum I love to be and I will always be me.  I will always be The Average Jim. 😉

Jess by The Average Jim