Style and Mood

I have often talked about style.  What it is and how you define your own, well that is a little harder than it seems.  Some photographers say shooting wide open at the lowest f/stop possible is a style.  I disagree, mostly because it is a technique and it can be used in any lighting situation as long as you’re exposing properly.  Some people say using only natural light or shooting in studio etc… but technique is not style.  Style is when someone can look at one of your images and know it is yours.  That is when you know you have defined your style.

Me?  I am pretty close to defining my style.  It doesn’t really matter if I’m at the beach, in studio or shoot digitally or with film.  My images tend to look like my images.  At least that is what I have been told.  I honestly hardly ever think twice about how I’m going to shoot an image from the technical standpoint, I always tend to focus on the mood.  To me the mood of the image is what matters most.

Danielle by The Average Jim