The Average Shoot ;)

Ever have one of those days, weeks, months or years where you just feel like you cannon figure out what it is you are trying to accomplish?  That is how I have been feeling about my own photography work.  There were some sessions where it just felt like I was going through the motions even though I was giving it 100% it just never felt right.

Sometimes you just need to step back and look at your own work, at how you view you own work and really study the intention of why you are doing what you are doing.  This is what I have been trying to do and I think I am starting to point myself in a direction that will make me happy.  One thing I have noticed is that my actual work, the stuff you see on this site, is not what has been making me think twice about what I do.  It is my own intentions that have been making me rethink things.  I have been trying to do too many things.  Commercial, portrait, fashion, art etc… and although I can do many different things I really need to narrow it down or just shoot one style at a time.  No more of these shoots where I try to shoot an editorial and squeeze in some art at the same time.

Today I had the realization that I just like focusing on one thing at a time.  I just got back some film scans from the lab this weekend and it was from my session with Roarie.  When she came in we just shot for art and for the sake of creating great images together.  This is how I want to shoot from now on.  Focus on one person, one topic and just do the best I can every time.  I don’t think that is asking too much of myself.

I am definitely feeling like I am back with all pistons running in sync and ready to take on all the projects that have been bouncing around inside of my head. Suddenly I cannot wait for my next shoot.  I’m eager and full of energy again.  Just don’t say commercial work…  that definitely kills the buzz.  😉

Here is one of my favorite film shots of Roarie from earlier this year.

Roarie by The Average Jim