The Right Time

This year I have made it my goal to remain positive, even when ranting about something, I have to find something positive to go with it.  Last year I really let certain people get under my skin, it was really more of an irritation of their stupidity, but nevertheless, I let it get to me.  I already feel better about my business plan and my goals for this year.  Yes, believe it or not I actually do set some goals!  I have learned to not talk about them in detail as they do change and sometimes I don’t want to let my competition know what I’m about to do next.

But I will say, part of keeping positive is finding my happy place.  I love going back through old images in the archives and finding new photos from old shoots.  Sometimes great things happen by simple fate.  I’ll explain.

The shot I am posting today is of Tracy.  She is a model who happened to accompany her friend who was modeling for me at my studio that same day.  While her friend was in wardrobe I had asked if she wanted to shoot too?  She was all for it, hopped in the make up chair and in-between the time I was shooting her friend she got in front of the camera.  There was no planning, we just grabbed a black dress with a plunging neckline and we just did our thing.

Now I loved the shots I got of her friend and those images served the purpose they were suppose to.  But the photos I got of Tracy were just an added bonus to my day.  It was random, we both really liked what we got and it was spontaneous.

Sometimes you get an opportunity and you just have to take it.  Part of building up your career in this industry is making sure you are in the right place at the right time.  And sometimes, if you’re lucky, the right time and place finds you!

This is the shot, it was taken back in 2009, I love digging through the archives!

Tracy by The Average Jim