Shark Tank or Fish Pond?

Today has been a very good day.  I shot in Malibu, in just the perfect conditions (yes images will be coming soon) and still had time to reflect upon this whole business of photography.  My passion for this art form, or type of work, or whatever you wish to call it is starting to come back.  But, there are some changes I need to make.  I won’t get into all of that now.  It seems that for the past year I have been trying to change what I offer or how I charge for what I do.  This is a major part of this business but there is something that I have touched on but have found that I myself do not follow.  So here it is, the bottom line of doing business.  People hire me simply because I do what only I can do.

I know, some of you think that any photographer, or any good photographer, can do what any other photographer can do.  I disagree.  We each have our own unique vision of how we see things. Part of what I do involves the team and locations I choose to use.  So I could say that I am often replicated but never duplicated.  What I do is far more than just exposing the image properly, it is the whole way I set up the shots.  I will not divulge this secret, there are too many people out there who will want to know what it is, it’s not rocket science, but it is something I have learned over the years.  Okay, now I sound like an old pirate carrying on about how to find sunken treasure…..

The whole thing is this.  We are all different, we all offer something different.  I offer what I can only do.  Nothing generic over here.  So if I am going to work as a photographer, you get me, old school, egotistical and full of piss and vinegar.  There is only one me, and I have decided to unleash myself.  To hell with being the big fish in the pond, I’m going for shark status. I’m not selling workshops, I’m not selling actions, I’m not here to sell to photographers.  I am a photographer, I’m too busy making images to entertain the idea of making money off of other new photographers.

I’ll be adding more galleries on this site very soon, more commercial work, portfolio work, vintage, film, you name it, it’s going to be here.   So here is to inspiration and innovation.  It’s only December but I am already thinking of the New Year.  Watch out 2013, here comes The Average Jim’s foot, and if you don’t get out of the way, it’s going to wind up in your ass.  😉

Kaley by The Average Jim