Appreciating the Good

Once again I am in the mood to just do what I want to do.  I have had such good experiences with clients recently that I just want to continue to only take on the gigs that I feel good about.  This sounds like a no brainer and I have mentioned it enough that I should never have to remind myself again, but I am definitely just reminding myself again!

It always seems that when you work with someone who drives you crazy and who is a royal pain in your ass that it takes away from your good clients.  The old saying of “the squeaky wheel gets the grease” is so true!  Well, I’m tired of the squeaky wheel, and as a CEO of a major company once said, “the customer is not always right”.  Recently we had to fire a client, they were difficult right from the get go.  It was obvious that they were going to be a problem so we never even ran their credit card and had no intention of doing so until we knew they were happy.  Let’s just say that was the smartest thing we could have done!

Trust your gut in this business, more often than not it is right.  There are some terrible clients out there who disguise themselves as good people.   Don’t fall for it and don’t feel guilty about firing a bad client.  They are a waste of your time and money, they will never refer you and they will talk badly about you no matter what you do.  Nip it in the bud and don’t let it get out of control to the point of it costing you money.  This is the best business advice I could ever give, the sooner you learn how to not waste your time the better.

So now I prefer to only work with people who are worth my time.  The people who I would work with anytime, the people who have the same outlook as I do.  They are out there, and the less time I spend on the squeaky wheel, the more time I have to spend on the people who truly appreciate what I do.  This is my way of appreciating them.  What goes around comes around, and I definitely like it when it’s the good that keeps coming around.