If you can’t say something nice, then don’t. ;)

I used to have another blog that I wrote on almost as often as on here.  It was much more of a positive site, this site actually started as my “comedy relief” from the industry.  I often could not believe the shallowness and egocentric behavior of several people I had worked with so I decided to make fun of it.  I simply played off of the same emotions I have about my own work and how I feel about the industry and then cranked it up to 11.  Guess what, I’m still that same positive person but I have to admit that it does feel good to rant and get things out of your system as well.  I would love to say that this is all in good fun but it’s not.

In school teachers always said, or maybe your parents said to you, “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all.”  What a load of horse shit.  This is the problem with our society, nobody wants to tell someone when they are being completely stupid and out of line.  I am completely guilty of this myself.  Yesterday I was in the self serve line at the grocery store.  A lady in scrubs cuts in front of me, I’m in no rush and she looks like she is late to get back to her job so I just let her go in front of me without confrontation, plus there was nobody else behind me.  This lady could not figure out how to use the self serve check out.  Seriously?  Then when it said “Finish and Pay” she just starred at it like she was completely lost and didn’t know what to do.  It’s simple, just finish and pay!  I kept my cool and didn’t say anything for the nearly 5 minutes it took for her to finally finish and pay (with the help of an employee).  I then thought, she is wearing scrubs, please tell me she is just the receptionist at a doctors office!  If someones life is in this lady’s hands they are screwed!

Honestly, if I had just stepped in and told her not to cut in front of me this could have been avoided by me, but I was nice when she was inconsiderate and look where it got me.  I could have just stepped in and showed her how to work the machine but people get all freaked out if you come near them when their wallet is out or if you come close to their food.  I could have just stood behind her and said “push the damn button stupid” which is really all the help she needed.  But instead I was calm, polite and just laughed it off thanking the universe that I am not as stupid as her.

So back to the point of my blogging.  For the most part I am a happy positive person.  But when I get around people who are even more narcissistic than I am, think that they are better than someone just because they are taller, call themselves a “Supermodel” when they just aren’t.  You will end up here on this site with me verbally making fun of you or ranting on about your stupid workshops.  I will throw some positive vibes in there every now and then, but these rants are for all of us who have to put up with your bullshit in every day life.  No, we really don’t like you, we don’t want to see your painted toenails on Instagram, and we could give a rats ass about what club you are hanging out in trying to get discovered.  Your ego does not hide your insecurities, confidence in your abilities, hard work and learning your craft, that is what makes those insecurities go away.

People, stop playing the game, it gets you nowhere.  If you are only out there to sell something to other photographers your shelf life is shorter than that of a model.  Models, if you are trying to be an internet model and charge $100 an hour to shoot nudes in some guys house, you will most likely never be published in a high end fashion magazine.  And I don’t care what anyone says, “Italian Vogue” on the internet does not count as being published in Vogue!  Get over yourselves!  Plus, anyone who is anyone knows the difference between a real publication and one that most anyone can get.

These things like “Italian Vogue” and other online magazines are meant to help you learn your craft and be a stepping stone for your career, they are not your career.  You can lie to yourself, you can lie to others and make them believe it is the truth, or you can just work hard and simply be proud of your accomplishments.  I don’t care if your work has never been seen outside of your basement, it is your work.  Don’t make it sound better than it is, you don’t have to.  When it comes right down to it, your work really does speak for itself.