Worth Less or Worth More?

This has been a really good week.  It’s had it’s ups and downs, but overall there have been a few moments of clarity.  One is simply this.  I don’t want to sound mean or make it seem like I view myself as better than others but here is some food for thought.

If you have been trying to have me photograph you for free for a very long time and I keep saying no, then your only other option is to hire me.

Conversations go like this…..

Model… “I love your work and I would love to shoot with you, I have wanted to for a long time”

Me…. “You can always hire me…..”

End of conversation.

If you are not willing to make the effort for your own career why the hell should I?  I am not here to make the effort and do all of the work for you just simply because you feel like you deserve to be a “star”.  I don’t know anyone in this industry who got anywhere without working for it.  Okay, a few people who had it handed to them, but who really wants to be Paris Hilton?

Work hard, make the right choices and invest in yourself!  Just because you are paying someone does not mean you are worth less, if anything it makes you worth more.  Just something to think about.

Here is one more from my shoot with Robyn this week.  Happy Friday. 🙂