No Lights

I have always been a fan of simplicity.  To me less is always more.  I love minimal amounts of wardrobe, just enough to keep you guessing and just enough to show off what the wardrobe can make you feel like when wearing it.  I also love having minimal amounts of gear when I shoot.  I don’t use a lot of equipment and my studio is quite bare.  It’s funny in a way.  I have 1600 square feet and currently not even one light set up.

Some of my best work has come with my old camera, one lens and natural light.  Actually, most of my best work has come this way.  When I was younger I always wanted to shoot in studio with studio lighting but as I get older I am really finding that I like the minimalistic approach way better.  It allows me to connect with my subject better, there is no intimidation involved with seeing all of these giant studio lights surrounding them.  It’s just me, them and a camera.  It’s just what seems to work for me.  If it ain’t broke don’t fix it right? 😉