Making Changes

I have been known to go on a rant or two.  I have been known to call it like I see it and not pull any punches.  I have also been known to stick to my style and just do what I do.  This is what makes me who I am.  This is also what makes me pick and choose who I will and will not work with.

A while back I had a client come in who was seriously so disrespectful that I just wanted to kick their entire team out of the studio.  Unprofessional, condescending and rude.  Plus they kept making the models feel ugly and fat, which they were nowhere near either!  No matter what I did, even pulling them outside to discuss their behavior, nothing worked.  They just kept at it, acting like it was perfectly normal to behave this way.

I’m not going to go into detail, but wow.  In 20 years of doing this, I have never had someone hire me, pay me lots of money, just to shoot themselves in the foot.  I had a signed contract and I honestly did my best to deliver images of the quality that I like to deliver to my clients.  Even though I wanted to seriously ring this person’s neck, I kept my composure and did my job and acted professionally, no matter how unprofessional they were.

This is just one of the few things recently that is really making me take a long hard look at what it is I do.  I am officially re-writing my contracts because of this client.  I am changing the way things are done around my studio.  If you do not learn from these experiences and do something to change the outcome they will repeat themselves.  And to be perfectly honest, I never want to deal with that again!

So I am just going to say this.  Anyone who acts this way on my shoots from now on will be kicked off set.  I don’t care who it is or what it pays.  I am seriously sick of people who think they are so far above anyone that they can treat others like crap.  Oh, and for the record, the people who have been posted on this blog (including today’s photo) are NOT in this category! The people I show on this blog are people who I would work with time and time again!

I’m off for now, the stress is gone, changes have been made and life is returning to normal, whatever that is….. 😉