Putting it in Park

Today is a day when I am thinking about all sorts of different things.  I am still really wondering about what direction to go and really feeling like I am at the metaphorical crossroads of my career.

One path leads me towards a safe, semi-comfortable living as a photographer, but it doesn’t offer much in the form of creativity.  Another leads me towards some creativity but not so much in the ways of actually making a living.  A third is a great risk but it could have great reward.  These are the things I hate thinking about but unfortunately they are the things that need to be thought about.

I think every photographer has the fear of only being famous and successful after you’re already dead.  I don’t want to be that guy.  Granted, I’ve never really cared about fame and fortune, I just happen to have a personality that puts me out front most of the time so I take full advantage of it!

So what it comes down to is that I still have no clue what I want to do with my life.  I just know that I like what I am doing at the current moment.  Instead of picking a direction at this crossroads I think I may just pull over and park for a little while.  Just enjoy the scenery and take it all in while I still can.  If there is one thing I have learned in life it is to never take advantage of something good.  Enjoy it, embrace it and savor it.  I never want to say I didn’t try or that I didn’t enjoy the moments that life has given me.  So I’m putting it in park and hanging my feet out the window.  I’ll figure the rest out on another day, today I’m just going to chill. 😉