Challenge Accepted. ;)

I have had a lot on my mind lately.  Been working on the new website, I’m actually quite swamped with client work right now, dealing with good and bad, a few not-so-wanted people coming in and out of the studio and seriously thinking about upping my day rate because of all of this.

I had a great discussion the other day regarding rates and the type of clients you attract with certain rates.  It seems that if you have a low rate, whether it be weddings or commercial work, you tend to get people who hire you based on the finances instead of what is in your portfolio.  I don’t mind lowering my rate for the right client who really understands what it is I do and can do for them but when someone is price shopping I really just don’t want anything to do with them.  Okay, so the economy is still pretty bad and work is work, but where do you draw the line?

The answer is kind of obvious, if you’re booking up your calendar then it’s time to raise your rates and go for the bigger jobs because obviously you are worth it and you are wanted by others for the jobs that other people are also fighting for.  Especially if you are not fighting for them but they are coming to you!  I don’t have to fake my credentials or hope to get “published” on someone’s blog to hopefully get seen, I just do what I do and stick to what I say.  I’ve always liked the phrase, “Stand and Deliver.” Now it’s time to up my game, to put up or shut up, and as Barney Stinson would say, challenge accepted. 😉