Great Risk = Great Reward

I think there are several misconceptions about me.  Some people think I’m a little brash and arrogant, or that I just act this way to get attention.  Honestly, the models I photograph and put on this site get me plenty of attention!  Of course I have been complimented on my rants.  Other people think that I must be just one of those photographers on the internet who just wants to be around pretty girls because it looks better than going to the strip club.  Nope, I’m not that either.  So who is The Average Jim?

People think I am joking when I say what I am about to say, but here is the truth.  I am very full of myself while still being humble.  I know this sounds like an oxymoron but it is true.  I love the work I do, I don’t really care if others think it is amazing or trash.  I am more than willing to take the time to help others get better as photographers and to talk shop with almost anyone.  I am also someone who will call you out when I think you are full of shit, on the web but preferably in person.  I don’t care if you have thousands of fans on Facebook or some other social media site, I have them too, it’s not hard to get, this doesn’t make you special.  If you are a fraud I take it personally, even though I shouldn’t.  Yes, I stick my nose where it doesn’t always belong, but it’s usually to defend someone who deserves defending.  I can be petty and arrogant over really stupid things.  I wear my heart on my sleeve.

So yes, I know I am good at what I do, I would not get people’s attention if I wasn’t.  I am honest with what I do and sometimes people will try to take advantage of that.  There are people who hate me because I was nice, they tried to take advantage of me and so I cut them off.  It’s that old saying of don’t poke a lion with a short stick.  It’s really good solid business advice when you think about it.

Why am I going on about this?  Okay first, this is me, I go on about things.  If you have ever read this blog you should know this going into any post I make.  I am going on about this because there are so many people who have a fake persona.  This is who I am.  I have said my work is what glam metal is to rock and roll.  I love the real rock star attitude, not this wannabe rock star photographer crap.  I love my sleepy little beach town but I also love the party life in LA and NYC.  The people who know me know that I am a kind giving person, but they also know I am not politically correct, I speak my mind, profanity is a second language and sooner or later, if you hang around long enough, someone is going to get naked! (it just kind of happens around me in completely random situations)

I don’t need a second party to write my blog for me or to post on Facebook or on one of those model sites.  I answer my own emails and phone calls because when I deal with someone or with a major company I want them to know they are dealing with me.  As far as buying products, well I do have someone for that, but that is an assistant’s position.  I am reality, I don’t hide behind my name, it’s just who I am.  If you look hard enough on this site you will find my name, actually you don’t have to look to hard…..

So the point behind all of this….   I’m not trying to act cool, I’m not trying to be someone I’m not.  I am what I am, I encourage everyone to be who they are.  I have random business ideas that most people honestly would not even try.  With great risk comes great reward.  I put it out there without fear of failure.  My friend Rob said to me once, “your average is other people’s awesome” simply because I have the courage to try.  I encourage everyone to up their average, be bold and push yourself to be better at everything you do.  This is what I do, this is who I am and nothing is going to change.