The Pile is Getting High

It never ceases to amazing me….

This industry, the fashion and “fashion” industry that is, is full of people who have minimal success and want to wave it in front of everyone like they are the next A-lister who is going to be the next big thing.  When the reality is this.  You got the job probably because you are the lowest bidder.  Yes, no doubt this can get your foot in the door, everyone has done it at one time or another, but you have to know when to do it and when to stick to your guns.  Otherwise you could end up only getting jobs at the low-end.

Also, when you get this small dose of success, you must remember the people you have burned along the way.  Don’t try to be friends with me when you have flaked on someone I know very well, and definitely do not expect me to hire you after you have flaked on someone I know really well.

Yes, everyone has a bad day, things come up and shit happens.  I can totally get how this stuff happens, and I always give someone the benefit of the doubt the first time out.  But when you run your mouth and act like you have never done anything wrong, even by accident or out of being mad at someone else and you take no responsibility for your own actions, well, don’t expect any pity from me.  True, I have some people who don’t like me, mostly it is because I stood my ground.  I refused to bend and give in to their demands.  The demands that would have saved them thousands and cost me about a thousand.  I have one rule that I have learned to stick to over the years, I will not spend my money so you can get what you want.  If you want a product that costs me money, you have to pay for it.  99.9% of all of my clients are fully aware and completely understand this.  And don’t even get me started on the bullies of the industry.  Those who try to force you to pay them more than they are worth.

Bottom line…. Just because you are pretty, just because you landed a couple of cool gigs does not give you the right to treat people like they are beneath you.  I have worked with a lot of people.  Some who work with me expect me to kiss their ass, well that’s not going to happen.  Some expect me to give them all of the rights to images I shoot for free, that’s not going to happen either.  Some are not happy that they didn’t get 100 edits from a trade shoot.  Sometimes you just cannot win.  Pick your battles wisely.  If you are in this industry for any amount of time you will have someone not like you.  You will find that you don’t like several people you meet as well.  But then you work with some really cool people who you never would have met otherwise and it all seems worth it.

There is B.S. with every career, the trick is knowing when to shovel it out of your way.