Subtle Attraction

I love that I get to mix the artistic ideas in my head with the fashion and portrait styles I shoot.  There is a freedom in the subtlety of this type of work.  It’s just simple and pretty, subtle and soft, kind of a contrast to my narcissistic behavior.  Maybe that is why I like it so much?  Who knows, it is just something that draws my attention and holds it longer than most anything else.

What is really cool is that I also draw from these sessions when shooting lifestyle and regular portraits.  It’s all about the mood.  I read a great quote from Helmut Newton the other day, he said “My job as a portrait photographer is to seduce, amuse and to entertain.”  I think it is great that one of the greatest fashion photographers ever considered himself a portrait photographer.  This is definitely where I draw most of my influence from.  I love portraits, whether they are fashion portraits, fine art, lifestyle or just regular portraits that tell the story of the individual.  Not those cheesy department store portraits, those should just go away now.

A portrait tells a story, it sets a mood and it should reflect a feeling of some sort.  At least that is the way I look at it.  The images I shoot for others, it’s not just about what something looks like, it is about how you feel or how you wish you felt.  The viewer needs a connection to the image, they need to feel something towards it, even if they are just attracted to it, it doesn’t matter why, it just matters that they are.  This is what I love to do, and hopefully it is what I will keep being able to do for a long time.