Do Your Own Work.

There is something going on out there in the social media world that is starting to get on my nerves.  I know, I tend to get irritated at a lot of things people do, but this one I think is kind of just stupid on their part.  I’ll use Facebook as an example.

There was a certain photographer, some time ago, who would post photos of celebrities and well-known models that were taken from fashion magazines or fashion websites on his Facebook.  If asked, he would always give credit to the photographer who took the actual photo, but he was definitely letting people assume he was photographing famous people when he really wasn’t.  And this wasn’t just a handful of images, there were at least 40-50 images like this visible in his Facebook portfolio.  What this does is give a false impression of his work.  What this also does is create a problem for other photographers who may just be inspired by another photographers work and now they have to really make sure to give credit where credit is due.  Which I have also seen a couple of photographers who boldly give credit because they don’t want people ever even thinking they are taking credit for something they didn’t do.

Am I just looking too much into this?  I don’t think so.  There was a wedding photographer recently who was caught stealing images from other wedding photographers and she was booking brides off of this.  This is not only theft, but it’s fraud.  I mean is it so desirable to have a photography career that you go out and steal photos from others?  There are so many other things you can steal that will make you more money!

I just find it odd that a working photographer feels the need to push their own career forward by using another photographer’s work.  Even if it is only implied or if it is someone else assuming it.  Personally, I don’t put that vibe out there.  I do what I do and I do what makes me happy.  I don’t want anyone thinking I didn’t shoot something with my name on it…… there are even times I don’t want my own name on some of the things I have shot!  But that is a story for another time. 😉