The Calm

I am really having the urge to get more into fine art photography.  Well, fine art with a fashion portrait vibe.  There is something about the simplicity of it that I love.  Shooting fine art pieces is kind of like a hurricane.  With all of the lighting and thought that goes into it, it’s crazy around the edges.  Yet when you are shooting, it’s like the eye of the storm, all calm and peaceful.  Outside of the eye you have your lights, assistants, gobo’s and reflectors, clamps and all of this cold metal surrounding a very serene bubble of space.  Or you can do what I normally do and shoot with just myself, the model and the camera.  Maybe a backdrop or just an open field.  I’m not good with craziness, even on the outside.

I really like natural light, and it is so much easier to set up too!  Just wait for the sun to come up and viola, done!  I don’t know why I am so drawn to natural light, I mean I can and quite often do use my studio lights, but the softness that I can get with diffused light or open shade or the contrast with direct light, I get to move with the model and decide on what the mood of the image will be.  There is something about this whole freedom I have while shooting that I just love.

Maybe I’m just rambling on here, but I am somehow in the moment just a little more when shooting with natural and available light.  I’m sure there are others who feel this way too, I don’t know how to describe it, it just feels right to me.  Now watch, I’ll shoot in the studio with the strobes in the next week and ramble on about how I love doing that!  Maybe I’m just obsessed with photography? 😉