Up Your Average – The Average Jim Workshop

Okay, so I was thinking about this all day yesterday and again as soon as I woke up this morning.  I have been complaining about crappy workshops and people who don’t know squat teaching stuff that they should not be teaching for quite a long time now.  Since I am so sick of people who really should not be teaching, even though I do not claim to be a teacher at all, it is time for me to put up or shut up!  So yes, I am going to be putting together “The Average Jim Workshop Series” for the very first time.  The dates are still to be determined but I will definitely be announcing them shortly.

I will be basing the topics of the workshops off of the questions that have been asked of me by other photographers.  There will be a wide range of coverage, everything from shooting nudes to portraits to lifestyle to weddings and how they all benefit each other.  Developing your own style and how to market it.  How to work with models, how to work with agencies, how to work with “civilian” clients.  Honestly, there will have to be more than one workshop to cover everything but the first one will definitely be intensive!

Price? Not sure yet.  I have to factor in time, crew and models.  It will probably be somewhere between $300-$500 for a one day workshop.  But for the record, just like I have it set up on this site, I am not doing this to make a living off of!  I am a photographer first and the workshops are more of a way to offer up real world working knowledge of the photography business.  Since this is my goal a portion of the proceeds from these workshops will go to some of my favorite charity organizations that care for abused and abandoned animals.  To me this alone is worth the time and effort it will take to put on these workshops.

I will also be offering one-on-one mentoring for those who want a little more than attending a workshop can offer.  This will be tailored to each individuals needs.  And yes, this goes for people who want to start shooting nudes too.  Sometimes people are a little embarrassed when they want to get involved with nude photography due to the way society looks at it.  I can show you how to get involved the right way and how to get amazing models for your projects.

I am still putting together all of the details and plans for the first workshop, and yes I am calling it a workshop.  I was going to call it a retreat but then I thought to myself no, I’m going to do a workshop the way I would want one to be.  My goal is not to teach you how to shoot like me or be like me, it is to help you develop your own style and shoot like only you can!  I don’t care what camera you use or what software you use.  I do not have any sponsors and I will not try to sell you products you don’t need.  I will do my personal best to keep it 100% legit and actually have real world knowledge that will benefit your photography career whether it is just starting out or you have been doing this for 10+ years.

So here I am, I am willing to put my money where my mouth is.  If you want to learn lighting, posing, working with models and clients, everything from nudes to fashion to weddings then here it is.  I may not know everything but I am willing to share everything I do know.  Now lets see who is along for the ride. 😉