Memorial Day

Today is Memorial Day here in the U.S.  It is a day when we are to remember the people who have served our country.  I see a lot of posts on Facebook about how “its not national BBQ day” and I have also seen people’s comments on such posts some are anti-war while others get offended when someone says they do not believe in war.  Honestly, I feel war is completely stupid on every single level,  I have no idea what makes someone want to take over a country or region and kill it’s people.  I don’t understand how anyone would want to kill another human being.  But I am smart enough to realize that war is a fact of life at this point in time.  So therefore there do need to be people who defend for those who cannot.

I’m not going to get political or anything like that.  All I am saying is that if you want to have a BBQ then have one.  I personally never wanted to join the military but I do respect those who are out doing a job there is no way in the world I would want to do!  Today isn’t just about remembering, although that is a huge part of it, it is also about respect for yourself, your neighbors and the citizens of this country who are no longer with us because of doing their duty to this country.  You don’t have to agree with the actions taken of those in charge who put these men in women in harm’s way, you do not have to agree with what war stands for or for why we even go to war.  All today is about is remembering.

I don’t have a photo for today, this is my way of sharing a moment of silence and remembering those who do not get to join us at our BBQ’s today.