Make The Effort

To those of you who think film is dead and everyone should just move on to digital and all of the major film makers should just go out of business I have one thing to say to you.  Piss off.  One is not better than the other, they are different and can both do very different things.

I saw a photographer’s blog recently where he was talking about tonal range.  I won’t go into details but once again his facts were way off, at least based on the work he was showing.  This is one more reason I don’t like to get too technical on this site, because it just doesn’t matter!  It is about the feel and the emotion and the whole vibe that matters, sometimes you can get it digitally sometimes you can’t.  I personally believe it is about picking the right tool for the job.

Knowing about different techniques makes you a better photographer.  You do not have to use all of the techniques all of the time, but you should have a good understanding of them.  I guess my point is that you should not just listen to one person, including me, get other opinions, read up on stuff yourself and experiment with your own ideas.  There is no one right way, there is no single answer that will solve all of your photography questions.  Push yourself to try new things, make yourself fail out of just making the effort to try something completely out of the box!  Because if it works, you may just teach yourself something more than you could have ever learned from someone else!