The Business of Business

I love keeping it simple.  Just me, my subject and my camera.  These are the types of shoots I personally like the best.  No distractions, nobody watching the clock, nobody trying to put in their own 2 cents.

Of course, you really need to have that trust with your subject.  They must know you’re not a weirdo just trying to be alone with a pretty girl.  This is where your reputation comes in.  Building a portfolio isn’t just about collecting images and having them look great.  It is about building a relationship with people and building up references so you may further your career.

What people tend not to realize is that you cannot please everyone.  No matter how great you are, no matter how wonderfully you feel you treat people, there will be some people who you will never be able to please.  This is also a valuable experience when building your business.  This will allow you to weed out your potentially bad clients.  Not taking certain jobs can benefit you almost as much as taking the right job!  Bad clients can take up so much of your time and energy that learning the warning signs is a priceless experience!  And trust me, there are some really bad clients out there!

But then there are the good ones, the ones who make every day worth coming into work.  These are the people you want to surround yourself with, the ones you hope you get to work with over and over.  These are the types of days you wish would never end!

So what is the point of my ramblings?  Nothing really, I’m just enjoying the moment, not letting a certain someone get to me.  This is a certain someone who I turned down work from, which was one of the best decisions I have ever made, especially now that they have opened up their own “business” in the industry but apparently expect everyone to work for them for free.  I would have been included in this, but no thank you.  When I work for “free” it is not just to benefit someone else, it is to benefit myself as well.

I’ve been in this industry for several years.  People who continually burn people will not go too far.  So I’m not too worried about them.  I hope they don’t fail, but I do hope they learn a valuable lesson about respecting others.  Otherwise, they are bound to run out of people of quality who are willing to help them out in the beginning.

But on a happy note, here is another one of Sydney, one of those people you want around a lot! 🙂