Discovery

What I have been finding out lately is that people are lazy.  Some do work hard, but others just follow the crowd and wait to snatch an opportunity and then call it their own.  Honestly, I don’t care.  I have too much going on to worry about people like this.

I think those of us who create our own opportunities and who invest in ourselves discover more about our actual self.  We discover what is in our heart and where our creativity originates from.  I look at some of my ideas that I have done in the past and I honestly have no clue where they came from, other than I did think of them.  But I do know that I have a serious obsession with certain things, and certain decades even. But where does this whole spark of inspiration come from?  And then once it is there, how do you bring it to life?

Honestly, I don’t know.  It just sort of happens for me. I can feel the inspiration, I can see how I want an image to look before I ever even touch the camera, but I just cannot put it into words.  It is a type of awareness and it is 100% second nature to me.  I don’t have to think about it or over analyze it to make it happen.  I don’t really plan things out, I definitely generalize and play it all by ear, which doesn’t mean I don’t know what I am doing, it just means only I know what I am doing and what I will be doing next.

I am starting to discover that, more than ever, my work is about me.  It may not represent how others see me, but it definitely does represent how I see the world.  It may not make sense to everyone, but then again, it doesn’t have to.  As long as I can communicate my ideas to my willing subjects and as long as I am happy with what I am doing then everything will be just fine.

Here is one from my most recent editorial submission with Courtney, you can see more of the photos here Foam Magazine