Are You Really You?

I was asked a question from a photographer I know about style which really kind of sparked this post today.  I am getting ready for a shoot with one of my favorite people I have ever worked with and she will be here in about an hour.  I’m not worried about what I am going to shoot, I’m not worried about how I’m going to direct her or about what she will want to do.  No matter what, at the end of the day, it will look like my work.

How does your work reflect upon you?  Does it look like anyone could have shot it or worse yet, does it look like someone else shot it?  Being who you are has nothing to do with technical ability or what gear you use.  It is about your vision and whether or not you put your soul into your own work.  I don’t care if I’m shooting digital, film, large format or Polaroid instant film, my work is my work.  I don’t change who I am based on what I use or where I’m at.  I still have vision, I still have my own concepts and my own ability.

I have said it so many times, be bold, have the courage to fail, be ready and willing to fall flat on your face with your ideas.  Being original in thought is a huge step in any career, being true to yourself is something that once you do it, you will never be satisfied again unless you stay true to yourself all of the time.  Finding your inner vision will take time, frustration, agony and the strength to keep pushing forward when you are ready to give up.  But if you are seeking it, it is worth the journey.

I have no idea when I figured out my own style and my own vision of my work, it’s always just kind of been there and it has developed over time.  Now it is just second nature to me, I don’t have to think, I just do and it just happens.  So dig down deep and find what makes you happy, what makes you tick, this could just be what leads you to the next step of your journey to photographic enlightenment.  😉

Here is one of Liv from our very first shoot, instant Polaroid, still my style.