What is Your Impression?

Okay, I know I have talked about this before and maybe I am the only one who feels this way, okay well I know I’m not the only one because I have discussed this with others before.  I was on one of my regular social networking sites last night, I honestly don’t remember which one, and I came across an image that I really liked, or so I thought.  It was something that was totally not my style, something I would probably never shoot but I liked it from viewing it as a thumbnail.

I clicked on the image and I really liked the mood of it but then in big print next to it was a totally detailed description of how the photographer shot it.  Everything from the camera, lens, lighting, type of soft boxes etc… This totally ruined my impression of the image.  It took away any soul it had instantly.  If this had been a photography tutorial then fine, but it wasn’t this guy did it for every photo he shot.

I have a question for anyone out there who reads this who is not a photographer, do you really care how I shot any image on this site?  Probably not.  Only other photographers will care but that is so not what images of people should be about.  Stop asking how and start asking why.  It doesn’t matter what settings my camera was at or how many lights I did or did not use.  The only thing that matters is did I get my message across?

There was another person who made a remark, kind of insulting photographers who still use on camera flash, funny, I’ve been making money off of that for years!  I can do stuff with an on camera flash that most people don’t even realize but guess what, it doesn’t matter either.  Because there are people out there who don’t know anything about the technical side of being a photographer who create beautiful images with soul and feeling.

I will be the first to admit that I just like soft pretty pictures, I like the feeling and the mood of certain types of imagery.  I want to feel good, I want to be inspired at some level.  Isn’t that what we are supposed to feel when we look at photos or art or even movies?  I just think that life would be better overall if we talked more about the why and how it makes us feel rather than just sterile conversation about technicalities and mechanical objects.

Here is a photo of Courtney in a mechanical object, and I am not going to tell you how I did it. 😉