How do you like your nachos?

I don’t know what it is but I just love the creative side so much more than the technical side.  I was just working at the studio like usual yesterday when I got a text from Mackenzie saying she was in town and wanted to stop by.  I just so happened to have had my old 4×5 press camera (from the 1930’s) loaded with some expired Polaroid film so we decided to have some fun!

These are the types of shoots I love, they are spur of the moment, unplanned and based on just getting creative with what you’ve got and where you are.  No sets, no special locations, just use your imagination and run with it.

I really think I need to start shooting like this more often.  Or at least just get creative and not care as much about the content.  With creativity comes content, I like that philosophy.  I definitely must adopt that one on future shoots.  I think it all goes back to what I have said before.  It is all about the mood.  When it comes right down to it, mood is what matters.  You can be the most technically proficient photographer out there, but if you cannot show mood and convey an emotion then it just doesn’t do it for me.  Granted, this is my personal preference, I’m sure others would argue with me, but I don’t care.  I like images that aren’t “perfect” it’s just my personal taste.

It’s kind of why I like nachos.  They are messy, your hands get covered with salsa and cheese and juices and then they are all sticky at the end of the meal, but it’s the experience and the flavor of eating them.  To me photography is an experience, and unless you fully dive into it you are just not getting everything you can out of it.  If you don’t know what I mean, then the next time you order nachos, just try eating them with a fork! 😉