Definition of Style

I have said time and time again how being true to yourself is one of the best things you can do for your photography career.  Personally, if you saw the photos I like on tumblr, the images I search for on the web and the magazines I collect here in my studio you would see such a vast variety of inspiration that your head would spin!  Unless of course you are just like me and find inspiration from so many different styles.

And just because I really like different styles does not mean that I will try to shoot them all.  I was looking at another LA fashion photographers site yesterday and he had some work that I just loved, it was great fashion work and killer styling and very conceptual.  To be honest, as much as I loved his work, there is no way I would ever try to shoot that style of photo, but that doesn’t mean that it doesn’t inspire me!  If anything it just makes me think of different ways I would shoot the same concept.

One of the coolest things about being a photographer, at least in my mind, is the fact that I get to share my own personal vision with the world.  I dig my style, I like the mood of what I do, as one of my friend’s said about my work “it’s very Average Jim” which I thought was great that people start to recognize my style, even if it is a friend, my wife or models I work with on a regular basis.  I like that no matter what I do, it reflects me and my style. This is cool to me because I have actually worked really hard on defining myself, and it really does pay off!

This is what I try to tell other photographers who contact me asking advice, it is all about defining who you are as a photographer.  Everyone gets insecure about their own work, everyone thinks that there is someone better than they are.  What you need to realize is that there are people who are better than you at certain things, but only you can be you and only you can deliver your vision.  The trick is figuring out what your vision is and then figure out how to execute it in a photograph.  Sometimes I feel like I should be doing more post production to my images, but that is not my style, so I just keep doing what works for me.  So far so good, maybe when agencies and models and clients stop contacting me I’ll start doing something different.  But for now, I’m pretty happy, never content, but pretty happy with the results.  I guess I won’t be changing my ways anytime soon. 😉