Accidentally On Purpose

Happy accidents are one of those nice little perks you get as a photographer.  Sometimes you think you didn’t get a shot or you find something that was in the shot that you just didn’t notice, and sometimes you may accidentally slow your shutter when rotating your camera and get a little bit of blur that just happens to make the shot.  After getting so many near happy accidents I decided to start doing it on purpose.  It’s no longer an accident and it may not be technically right, but I like the way it looks.

Today’s image is an example of what I mean.  Everything about this shot is intentional, the blur, the haze all of it.  Sometimes I figure why hope for it to happen when you can just make it happen!  I’m not going to get into the technical of it all, that doesn’t really matter to me.  I just like the mood of images like this, it’s more than just a pretty picture to me, even if it only adds that 1% of intrigue then that is good enough for me.

I love mood, I love creating a vibe that just makes you want to sit back and stare at an image or a series of images for as long as possible or to keep coming back to it.  If my work is in a magazine I want people to not want to throw out that magazine because of the images in it.  This may not happen all of the time but if I can make it happen once for one person, then I have reached my audience.  Once again it just goes back to wanting to create a connection, a connection with my model and a connection with the viewer, and if the viewer can feel the connection to the model than my job as a middle man is done.  😉