TAJ’s Guide to Happiness Part 1 ;)

I don’t know what it is about simplicity but I just love it.  I have never been that person who has wanted to shoot something extreme or full of details and props.  Just the person, limited wardrobe if any at all in some cases.  I don’t even use that much equipment when I shoot.

My bag usually consists of my camera, one film one digital and two lenses.  Of course there is film in there and some extra CF cards and batteries.  But that is it.  I know there are others who swear you must have reflectors, external lighting, all the bells and whistles but it’s not my style.  And I know I’m not alone, there are several other photographers I speak with on a fairly regular basis who have their own version of simplicity.  It just goes back to it is the photographer who creates the image, not the camera or the gear.

I’m probably just rambling here, but I love watching certain photographers I know (who shall remain nameless) that actually try to recreate or just flat-out copy what I’ve done, sometimes with the same model even.  The funny thing is, they can’t, not because they are not good enough, but it’s not who they are as a photographer.  They are incredible at their own style, but they keep falling for the idea that they must be able to shoot everything all the time.  I guess I just have a different attitude, I know I can shoot anything all the time, but it will always be in my style.  People don’t pay me to get what someone else can shoot, they pay me to get what I can shoot.

Have confidence in your own work, develop your own style and do not be afraid to be who you are.  Sure, it is easier said than done, but if you do this, you will be a happier photographer in the end.  You’ll still be sending out the late payment notices, but you will be happier with your work!  Consider this the first part of The Average Jim’s guide to Happiness 😉

Here is another one of Codi from that same shoot……