Obsession & The Golf Swing

I have gone on many tangents about my obsessions with style and my passion for photography.  Well, this will probably be another one.

After spending the morning digging through the files and searching for an image to post today, I just decided to work on some more images from a shoot with Roarie last month.  I think Roarie understands my obsession very well.  I like soft light, a lot, but there is more to it, it is a style and there is definitely a mood I like to capture.  I don’t really know how to explain the mood, but I know it when it is there.  It is like when you’re playing golf, or if you have ever talked to anyone who has played golf.  You can ask them, “why do you spend so much time and money just to hit a ball, go find it then hit it again?” and they will most likely tell you that once you hit that perfect shot, just once, you will be hooked from then on.  And this is true with photography and probably several other things in life.  Once you get that one shot that you completely visualized from start to finish you want to do it again and again no matter what the cost or how much time you need to put into it.  This is how I have become obsessed, or at least one of the key factors.

I have given up on being a technically perfect photographer, that just does not matter to me anymore.  I’m sure several professors of photography would disagree with my take on this, but who cares.  At this point in my photography career I just want to create images that I like.  Yes I have clients, but they hire me to do what I do.  I know I’ve gone on about this before but I just cannot stress it enough.  Not caring what others think of your work is such a freeing experience, if you love what you do and you are seriously happy with your work you will continue to produce work that you are happy with.  Make sense?

Now I’m not saying don’t learn anymore about photography, learning is always good.  But don’t think you need that information to execute a great image.  If you’re feeling the need to learn more but don’t know where to start try this out.  Find a 35mm camera, point and shoot or manual, doesn’t matter.  Put a roll of cheap film in it, something you can get developed anywhere.  Find a subject that interests you, whether it be a model, landscape or wildlife or whatever.  Just compose each and every shot.  Pretend this is the last roll of film that you will ever shoot.  Look at the light, look at the way it wraps around your subject.  Compose each shot and use the entire roll in one day.  Get it developed and see what you got.  If it’s crap, then you do not need to learn all of the tricks, you will need to learn the basics.  If it is amazing, then you need to learn nothing and anything you wish to learn is just an added bonus.

Art is subjective, all photography is subjective.  If you are happy with the quality of work you are producing then enjoy it.  Shoot for yourself and everything else will fall into place, and once it does, then you can decide what you want to do with it. 😉