Happy Days

I often feel the best when I am shooting.  This whole concept of sitting behind a computer for hours every day just gets to me.  This is probably why I am not a big fan of massive amounts of post production.  Yes, I understand Photoshop and how to use most of it, or at least what I need to use.  But other than that I don’t really like to sit and edit all day long.  I do know some photographers who love it, they love to see what type of changes they can make to their work and all of that stuff.  It’s just a different approach, neither is right or wrong, it’s just about finding what works best for you.

What works best for me is my simple process of shooting in the field near my studio, pick out the favorites and then do a slight edit.  It’s a very simplistic approach, and I am in a way a minimalist.  I don’t need a new camera with all of the bells and whistles, I rarely even take more than one lens out of the bag when I am shooting.  I just like it that way, less gear and more dialogue.  I talk a lot to the people in front of my camera.  For me this is how I get them to be who they really are, even if they are a model, it is about selling them and their best qualities.  Once again, it’s just my style and how I like to do things.

So I don’t have a shoot today, which is kind of nice, but it’s so nice out that I may have to go and take photos of something!  But no matter what, today is a happy day because I am not going to spend it in front of my computer all day long! 😉