The Average Photoshop ;)

What a day, I’m still not done editing but I really needed a break so since I have not posted on here yet today, I guess it’s about time!

There is always a debate about how much Photoshop is too much.  Honestly, I don’t have a clue! All I know is that I base my post production simply on what I think the image should look like.  No other opinions really matter to me.  I will admit I like the simple approach.  I like to retain some skin tone, so they look like a person not plastic.

Admittedly I think I like the lack of Photoshop more than anything, but it is a wonderful tool for removing blemishes!  It is so much easier than it used to be retouching negatives!  But back to the question at hand.  How much is too much?  I say if you are asking yourself “did I do too much to that image?” the answer is probably yes.  If you start over-analyzing an image and think to yourself, well just a little more, NO just stop.  Unless it’s a dust spot or something that must be removed, don’t touch it.  To make that final decision it is great to bring up the original with no re-touching and then compare them side by side.  It is a great way to see how much you have really done to an image!

Basically, just be your own judge.  If you like it someone else just might too.  If you don’t like it, then most people will probably not like it.  Photography and post production can be a touchy subject with a lot of photographers.  I’m no master, but damn if I don’t know what looks like crap!  So unless you really know what you’re doing, I say keep it simple and stay within your own ability!  But it is fun to play around a bit with the images you know nobody will ever see! 😉

Here is a shot from a couple of years ago…. I almost completely forgot about this session!  There is something about a casual fashion style shot I just love.