The Average You! ;)

I think I’m over it.  Over the whole “industry” that is photography.  I feel like taking a step backwards and doing things the old-fashioned way.  Granted I’ll still need some of the new technology that is out there.  Our online photo lab for one, Pictage, but every photographer needs a lab and a way to store their images.  But outside of that I’m really just not into what is going on out there.

So many people are trying to be something they are not, talking about things they know nothing about just to book those 8-10 weddings a year, get published in a 3rd world country version of a popular men’s magazine (that doesn’t pay) or teaching something they really know nothing about to new photographers.  But like I said, I think I’m over it.

I can only do what I do, why spend time fighting it?  So there are people who are teaching people wrong, well, this has been going on for centuries in all other areas of life so why worry about it in the photography world right?  All I can do is just keep doing what it is that I do.  Why?  Because only I do what I do, just like only you do what you do.  Unless of course you spend hours and days trying to copy someone else, then you’re doing what a lot of other people are doing.

Dave Gahan of Depeche Mode said in an interview that a lot of his depression came from trying to be the next “insert big rock star name here” instead of just trying to be the first Dave Gahan.  Admittedly, I never really liked Depeche Mode, but damn if I didn’t respect what he said.  He finally starting feeling good about himself when he decided to be himself.

It’s really simple when you think about it.  If you can muster up the courage to be who you are and show that side of you to the rest of the world imagine how great that can feel.  Most of your bad feelings come from trying to be what you think you should be instead of being who you know you are.  The first rule of being an artist is being true to your craft.  And if you’re not true to yourself, how can you be true to your craft?

Honestly, I can teach anyone anything about photography.  Mostly because I obsess over it, from large format to digital, RAW & Jpeg, all of those little details that they teach in school.  I can do that.  But, only you can unleash your vision unto the world.  Only you know what your true creative forces are, and who cares if you think that they are just silly little ideas that really don’t mean anything.  If they mean anything to you then it is worth creating.  It doesn’t matter what other people think, it matters how you feel about what you do.  Once you have this, everything else will fall into place accordingly.

So this might be a little “wordy” for some of my photo friends out there (Chris and Frank) so here are some more pics from my spur of the moment shoot with Monique.