Sometime After Midnight…

What a day!  I woke up at 3:00 AM to find my wife emailing about today’s shoot and letting me know that it has been moved up by 2 hours…. so much for sleeping in today!  So of course I get to the studio, load up the gear, check and make sure all of the batteries are charged, film in the camera (yes I said film) and off to downtown LA we go!

Part of what I love about what I do is the fact that there are no real set hours to my job.  Checking email after midnight is kind of a regular thing, same with being able to wear slip on shoes that feel more like slippers.  Mine is not a career for someone who craves a routine schedule or wants a steady paycheck!  The pay is random, the jobs all have a different price tag, you always have someone wanting something for nothing and it’s just part of the business…. but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I get to meet some great people, creative people, and I get to play with my camera’s all day long.  Most people do not understand the life we photographer’s lead.  Strange hours, we are technically open for business 24/7, informal attire is acceptable for the most part, and we text rather than answer the phone, it’s just more efficient that way.  Overall, it’s a fun life and a great job, even when the pay isn’t that good!  There really isn’t anything else that I’d rather be doing than taking photos and hanging out with some pretty cool people.