A Great Situation

I love to capture a mood.  I know I can’t make every image speak to everyone but I think that is the challenge of photography that I like.  To me the simplicity is partly what makes it convey my thoughts.  It is like a dance, finding the light, figuring out how I am going to use it, bounce it, diffuse it, do I want it to be soft and delicate or bold and harsh.

There is no such thing as “bad light” in my opinion.  As long as there is light I am happy to use it.  I find myself walking around looking at shadows and how they fall on buildings, people’s faces and pretty much everything that surrounds me.  Light is all around us and we all see it differently.  Where there is light there is opportunity and where there is opportunity there is a chance for greatness.

I love the line in the movie Say Anything, when Lloyd Dobler says “I’m looking for a dare to be great situation”.  To me that is what I seem to always be looking for with my work.  Every time I pick up my camera I am looking for a dare to be great situation.  This is what inspires me, what inspires you?